We are selling homes and bringing new residents to the Jackson Lake community all the time. Whether you are a new resident, lifelong resident or a visitor to Jackson Lake, be sure you follow proper boating safety rules. Brushing up on boater’s education is a great way to prepare for a safe summer boating season. Please review current age and education requirements with your guests.
Do you need Georgia Boating education?
Yes, you need education if you were born after Jan. 1, 1998, and will be operating a motorized vessel in Georgia. There is no minimum age requirement to take the online course and you do not have to be a resident of Georgia.
Age and Operator Restrictions
Persons under 12 years of age:
- May NOT legally operate a PWC or any vessel 16 feet or longer.
- May legally operate a boat less than 16 feet and powered by a motor of 30 horsepower or less only if accompanied by a competent adult.
Persons 12 to 15 years of age:
- May not legally operate any vessel 16 feet inlength or longer.
- May legally operate a PWC or vessel less than 16 feet in length IF they have passed a boating education course approved by the DNR or are accompanied by a competent adult.
Persons 16 years of age or older
- May legally operate any boat or PWC on Georgia state waters if they have proper identification on board.
Even if not required by law to get the Georgia boating education card, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
Browse these clickable links to information concerning boating rules and regulations in the state of Georgia.
- Who Can Operate a Boat in Georgia
- Boat Capacity
- Required Equipment Checklist
- Requirements Specific to Personal Water Craft
- Boating and Motor Restrictions
- Know Georgia Boating Laws Before Heading Out to Water
- Skiers and Towing Skiers
- Boating Under the Influence
- Unlawful And Dangerous Operation
- Swimming Safety
- Other Boating Related Links
- NAVIGATION RULES in the Online Boating Handbook
Make sure you have the required number of personal flotation devices (PFDs) and check that they are in good condition.
“Competent Adult” means a person of age 18 or older who is not under the influence of alcohol or drugs and who is carrying proper identification.
“Proper Identification” means a drivers license (or legible copy) or any other government-issued identification that contains a description of the person, a photograph, and birth date.